Wednesday, April 30, 2014

'Disney Infinity 2.0' is Marvel-ous

Clark Gregg (Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.) hosted the launch of
Disney Infinity 2.0
In an announcement that surprised no one, Disney Interactive finally revealed what their new upgraded version of Disney Infinity will be all about. Still, it was some pretty...ahem...super news. The Mouse Castle's Christi Andersen was on hand for the launch event in Hollywood:
Riding the wave of their most successful video game ever (3 million starter sets sold and counting), Disney Interactive on Wednesday announced the launch of Disney Infinity 2.0. The press event, officially titled Disney Infinity: Marvel Super Heroes and hosted by Clark Gregg (Agent Coulson on Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.), confirmed the addition of the Marvel Super Heroes to the Disney Infinity universe. Samuel L. Jackson even made an appearance as Nick Fury in the opening video segment. Avengers, assemble! 
The character figures for Thor, Captain America, Hulk, Iron Man, Hawkeye, and Black Widow were revealed, with developers hinting that over twenty Marvel characters will be included in version 2.0 (Loki and Rocket Raccoon were spotted in a promo video). More Disney characters will also be included in the new version, but it looks as though we’ll have to wait for E3 in Los Angeles in June for more details. 

There were many new features and additions highlighted at the event, but first--those of you who have already invested in the original Disney Infinity, don’t fret--all Disney Infinity bases, figures, and power discs are compatible with both versions, as are previously created Toy Boxes. Version 2.0 enhancements include a new massive environment and improved character locomotion (hover, forward flight, super jump, and wall crawl, depending on the character), as well as more customizable attributes and skill trees. 
Thor, Black Widow, Iron Man, Captain America, Hawkeye and Hulk
make up the first wave of characters in Disney Infinity: Marvel Super Heroes.

Since users spend 60% of their time in Toy Box mode, many of the enhancements regarding usability have been concentrated here. For example, users will see a new brush system where they can more easily create environments such as cities, racetracks, and tree houses. Builder characters, who can be dropped in to automatically create environments, have also been added. Interiors will be available in buildings, including a “Home” area which can be customized to display progress and trophies. 80 new power discs will have features including costume changes, environment customization, vehicles, and a new team-up mode. 
The new Disney Infinity: Marvel Super Heroes Starter Pack will include the video game, 3 figures, 1 base, 2 Toy Box game discs, 1 Avengers Play Set Piece, and 1 Web Code card.

--Christi Andersen

No comments:

Post a Comment